Home News Results Standings Qualifying Calendar Photo Gallery Contact Us


Location : Great Britain

Track length : 5.141 km
Number of laps : 60 (308.355 Km)

Spectator Capacity : ~90,000

Creation Date : 1950


Record Pole : Kimi Raikkonen - McLaren - 1:18.233 (2004)

Fastest Lap : Michal Schumacher - Ferrari - 1:18.739 (2004)


1. Michael Schumacher - Ferrari

2. Kimi Raikkonen - McLaren

3. Rubens Barrichello - Ferrari


2004 - Michael Schumacher - Ferrari

2003 - Rubens Barrichello - Ferrari

2002 - Michael Schumacher - Ferrari

2001 - Mika Hakkinen - McLaren

2000 - David Coulthard - McLaren

1999 - David Coulthard - McLaren


The first British Grand Prix was held here in 1948, and it was only meant to be a one off, as the track was originally an airfield. Giuseppe Farina won the first World Championship race in 1950 for Alfa Romeo.

In 1973, Jody Scheckter spun at Woodcote, the right hander that leads into pit straight, triggering a multiple pile up. The track had its first alteration in 25 years due to this, and they added a chicane at Woodcote for the 1975 race. This was also the track that saw Clay Regazzoni give Williams their first win in 1979.

In 1987, a complex at Woodcote replaced the chicane, and that year Nigel Mansell defeated his teammate, Nelson Piquet in one of the tracks best races. The track was rebuilt in 1991, followed by another major rebuild in 1994.

The British fans were overjoyed with Damon Hill's win in 94, with Johnny Herbert winning for Benetton in 95. Williams's driver, Jacques Villeneuve took home victory in both 96, and 97 while Michael Schumacher won in controversial circumstances in 98 when he took victory for the Ferrari team in pit lane.

1999 saw the German suffer a first lap accident that saw him sidelined until the second last race of the season with a broken leg. The accident that many fans say lost him the 1999 drivers crown. Back in action and raring to go, the German faced the circuit undaunted in 2000, determined not to let memories of his accident the year before deter him from the task at hand. He didn't win the event, McLaren driver David Coulthard took that honour ahead of teammate Mika Hakkinen, however Schumacher still stood on the podium albeit on the third step. Amid threats of the race being stricken from the F1 calendar due to constant traffic chaos, the 2001 event was won by Mika Hakkinen but Michael Schumacher was on the top step of the rostrum once again in 2002.

Ferrari's Rubens Barrichello clinched victory in the 2003 British Grand Prix, in a race which had been plunged into chaos by a kilt-wearing protestor who ran onto the track in the face of cars speeding past at 200 km/h. Colombian Juan Pablo Montoya, in a Williams was second, 5.4 secs behind, with Finn Kimi Raikkonen, in a McLaren, third.

Kimi Raikkonen stormed to Pole Position ahead of Rubens Barrichello and Jenson Button, but the 2004 British Grand Prix fell once again to Michael Schumacher and the Ferrari team. Raikkonen, revelling with the handing of the MP4-19B introduced two-weeks before, pushed hard for McLaren Mercedes, crossing the line just over two seconds behind Schumacher with Barrichello just a second further adrift.


Home News Results Standings Qualifying Calendar Photo Gallery Contact Us
Created and Maintained By Carla Piccola
Copyright © Carla Piccola
Best Viewed With 5.x  or Above Browsers